WOS Council Trustees

The Society has no paid staff and is managed by its volunteer trustees, elected for terms of five years by members at the Annual General Meeting. Council usually meets three times each year and minutes are vaulted in our Business Archive once they have been approved.  For full details of how Council works, see the Constitution.


Iolo Williams was elected President in 2009, succeeding David Saunders OBE. Iolo is a well known radio and tv presenter, who has done much to raise

Read More »


Mick Green has been a WOS trustee since 2008 and was elected Chair in 2015 (term ends in 2020). He is an independent ecologist based in

Read More »

Vice Chair

Anne Brenchley was co-opted as a WOS Trustee in 2019 having served on Council previously. She began birdwatching in Kent at the age of five and

Read More »


Ian Spence has been secretary of WOS since 2007. His term ended in 2016 but with no-one willing to take the role, Ian was co-opted by

Read More »


Steve Sutcliffe was was elected as Treasurer in 2016 (term ends in 2021). He has lived in Pembrokeshire for most of his life and has a

Read More »

Other Council Trustees

Heather Crump

Heather Crump has been a WOS trustee since 2017 (term ends in 2022) and assists Danielle Rouse with the Society’s Twitter and Facebook pages. She has a PhD from

Read More »

Keith Noble

Keith Noble was elected as a trustee in 2015 (term ends in 2020). He moved to Brecon in 2007 after retiring from the RSPB where he

Read More »

Carlton Parry

Carlton Parry was re-elected at the 2017 AGM (term ends 2022), having served on Council previously. Growing up on the Welsh border, much of his

Read More »

Giles Pepler

Giles was elected at the 2015 AGM (term ends 2020). A BTO member for more than 50 years, he has served on the BTO Ringing

Read More »

Rhion Pritchard

Rhion Pritchard has been a trustee since 2015 (term ends in 2020). He is the county recorder for Caernarfonshire, was editor of the Cambrian Bird Report from 1996

Read More »

Danielle Rouse

Danielle was co-opted on to the Council in 2017 and elected a a Trustee in 2018 (term ends 2023). Dan is a wildlife presenter, author

Read More »

Jez Smith

Jez Smith was elected as a WOS trustee in 2019. He is a lecturer at the University of South Wales and a member of Cardiff

Read More »

Non-trustee representatives & Editor of Welsh Bird Report

Kelvin Jones

BTO Cymru representative Kelvin Jones attends WOS Council meetings as Development Officer for the BTO in Wales, and has been a major player on the Welsh birding

Read More »

Neil Lambert

RSPB Cymru representative Neil Lambert attends WOS Council meetings on behalf of RSPB Cymru. Neil started his RSPB career on the Mawddach in the early 1990s and

Read More »
Scroll to Top